[act-ma] 4/26 Cuba Program at BU today and Brown next week

Charlie Welch cwelch at tecschange.org
Tue Apr 26 08:00:05 PDT 2016




Join the Boston University African American Studies Department

on Tuesday,  April 26th at 5pm for /Cuba and the Way Forward: USA, 
Angola, Latin America and Beyond!/,

  a round table discussion about Cuban affairs at the
African American Studies building (138 Mountfort St. Brookline, MA 02446).

The speakers will be a mix of students and professors from BU. The 
speakers for the discussion are as follows:

Linda Heywood <http://www.bu.edu/afam/faculty/linda-heywood/> – 
Professor of African History and the History of the African Diaspora and 
African American Studies at Boston University.

John Thornton <http://www.bu.edu/afam/faculty/john-thornton/> – 
Professor of African American Studies and History; Director of African 
American Studies Program and Graduate Studies

Ana Maria Reyes <http://www.bu.edu/ah/profile/ana-maria-reyes/>– 
Assistant Professor of Latin American Art

Renata Keller <http://www.bu.edu/pardeeschool/profile/renata-keller/>– 
Assistant Professor of International Relations

Mary Jane Doherty <http://www.bu.edu/com/profile/mary-jane-doherty/> – 
Associate Professor of Film

Susan Eckstien 
<http://www.bu.edu/sociology/faculty-staff/faculty/susan-eckstein/>– 
Professor of Sociology and International Relations

Julie Klinger <http://www.bu.edu/pardeeschool/profile/julie-klinger/> – 
Assistant Professor of International Relations

Aharon de Grassi <http://agrarianstudies.macmillan.yale.edu/fellows> – 
Agrarian Studies Program Fellow at the MacMillian Center Yale University

Ambassador Paul Webster Hare 
<http://www.bu.edu/pardeeschool/profile/paul-webster-hare/> – Senior 
Lecturer of International Relations

Mariem Marquetti – Boston University Student

The speakers will share their particular research on Cuba with other 
speakers and the audience as well as engage in a discussion on 
contemporary Cuban affairs using their knowledge and findings. Join 
us as we plan to discuss ways of getting the administration, faculty and 
students engaged in fruitful discussions about Cuba in the world.

http://www.bu.edu/afam/cuba-and-the-way-forward-usa-angola-latin-america-and-beyond/

___________________________________________________-

Brown University, Providence RI

Friday, 5/6: *“**Cuban Transitions: What's Left Out?”*One-day 
international conference. Joukowsky Forum, 10 am - 5 pm. /Co-sponsored 
by the Cogut Center for the Humanities and the Department of History.
/


    WATSON INSTITUTE FOR INTERNATIONAL AND PUBLIC AFFAIRS
    <http://watson.brown.edu/>

111 Thayer Street, Brown University, Box 1970Providence, RI USA02912-1970

P +1 401 863 2809

watson_institute at brown.edu <mailto:watson_institute at brown.edu>

We hope to have more information about this event soon.









More information about the Act-MA mailing list