[act-ma] Mon, June 18 Reception Honoring Andrea Miller and the Fight for Women's Health Care

David O. Knuttunen webmaster at dsaboston.org
Wed Jun 13 14:15:45 PDT 2012

Mon, June 18 

2012 Debs-Thomas-Bernstein Awards Reception
Honoring Andrea Miller (former Executive Director of NARAL Pro-Choice
and The Fight for Women's Health Care

In the face of mounting right-wing attacks on women, help us honor an
activist who fights for women's rights: former Mass. NARAL Executive
Director, and Young Democratic Socialists alumna, Andrea Miller. Speakers
will include Marlene Fried, Professor of Philosophy at Hampshire College, a
widely published author who serves on the board of the Women's Global
Network for Reproductive Rights, as well as Darrin Howell of Mass Uniting,
and State Senator Patricia Jehlen.

Andrea has spent two decades on the front lines of the struggle for
reproductive justice. Under her leadership in 2010 NARAL Pro-Choice
Massachusetts resisted the nation-wide Republican tsunami by retaining a
slim pro-choice majority at the State House, and won "no co pays" for
contraception in health care legislation.  Last year, Andrea moved to NYC to
become President of the National Institute for Reproductive Health and NARAL
Pro-Choice New York, where she successfully battled the FDA for access to
over-the- counter emergency contraception and co-founded the Center for
Reproductive Rights.


Marlene Fried, Women's Global Network for Reproductive Rights

Darrin Howell, Mass Uniting

Patricia Jehlen,  MA State Senator

56 Perkins Street <http://dsaboston.org/PerkinsSt.htm> , Jamaica Plain, 6-8
PM - Click HERE <http://dsaboston.org/Debs-Thomas-Bernstein2012.htm>  for
more info, or download the PDF letter
<http://dsaboston.org/2012%20DTB%20Letter.pdf>  (with response slip), or
flyer <http://dsaboston.org/2012%20DTB%20Flyer.pdf> .

The award Andrea will be given is named after DSA Founding Chair Michael
Harrington and A. Philip Randolph, democratic socialist leaders of the last
century active in the civil rights, labor and peace movements of their time
who embody the political values DSA seeks to carry on today. These awards
have been given since 1977 to honor deserving activists,  Past recipients
include journalist Matt Taibbi, SEIU 615 President Rocio Saenz, and Dollars
& Sense editor Chris Tilly. Admission is $35 ($15 student/low income), which
includes hors d'oeurves and an open bar.


Hope to see you all on June 18!

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://act-ma.org/pipermail/act-ma_act-ma.org/attachments/20120613/1b25c32a/attachment.html>

More information about the Act-MA mailing list